Back on the wagon

Standard

You may have noticed that I haven’t written much about exercising lately. Well, I have a confession to make: the last two weeks I have been not as healthy as I should have been. Exercise has been infrequent (ok, nonexistent) and we ate more red meat last week than we should have; also, there may have been some chocolate involved. But I am back on the straight and narrow!

Things to look forward to on my blog this week:

1) Less red meat! In fact, no red meat this week; instead, we’ll be eating salmon, chicken sausage, chicken and veggie spaghetti. I am tired of eggs and toast for breakfast so I need to think of something different for next week but in the meantime I have been having lots of salads, which brings me to…

2) Salad recipes! I have been eating some truly amazing salads and I’ll probably share a few recipes.

3) A recap of my daily exercise. Yep, I said daily, not every-other-daily or once-a-weekly. I need to kick myself into high(er) gear and that starts with more activity.

Bonus! An update on The Great Job Hunt. Yes, I know this isn’t really related to food but it’s relevant in my life so I’ll probably write about it. Things like pimping a resume, going on a job interview, and bemoaning unemployment.

Recipe time! Let’s start with the salad (because breakfast has been boring me lately):

Lox Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 handful green leaf lettuce, torn into bite-sized pieces
  • 2 tbsp diced red pepper
  • 2 tbsp shredded carrots
  • 1 tbsp diced tomato
  • 4 slices cucumber, quartered
  • ½ avocado, diced
  • ½ tbsp chopped cilantro
  • 1 oz smoked salmon, chopped
  • ½ oz feta cheese, crumbled
  • 2 tbsp Instant Dressing

Directions:

1) Add lettuce to bowl; top with remaining salad ingredients and dressing. Enjoy!

This salad is super easy, super flavorful, full of good fats (poly/mono-unsaturated from the dressing and the avocado, omega-3s from the salmon) and really, really delicious. But don’t take my word for it—make it yourself!

Dinner time!

Sweet and Spicy Salmon

Adapted from a recipe at Unwined-TN

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp chili powder
    1 tsp pepper
    ½ tbsp ground cumin
    ½ tbsp paprika
    ½ tsp salt
    ¼ tsp curry powder
    ¼ tsp cinnamon
    ½ tsp brown sugar
    3 cloves garlic, minced
    1 tbsp olive oil
    1 lb fillet sockeye salmon

Directions:

1) Mix chili powder, pepper, cumin, paprika, salt, cinnamon, and brown sugar in a small bowl. Rub spice mixture all over fish, making sure to get sides and top of fish.

2) Tear off a piece of tinfoil that is about twice the size of the fillet. Grind salt and pepper in the middle of the foil; add minced garlic and pour tablespoon of olive oil on top.

3) Center fish over the garlic/olive oil on tinfoil. Fold tinfoil up around fish, making a pouch. Put pouch on preheated grill and cook for about 10 minutes.

While I adapted the rub from the recipe at Unwined-TN I borrowed the method of cooking from A Newf in my Soup:En Papillote, French for in parchment, is a method of cooking food in a folded and sealed pouch or parcel, and then baked. The parcel is typically made from folded parchment paper, but a paper bag or aluminium foil works equally well. The food steams in moisture from the food itself, or from added water, wine, or stock.  Vegetables, herbs and spices add to the flavor.” So there you are. I have wanted to try cooking fish en papillote for a while but I had my eye on a recipe that uses phyllo dough as the bag and that doesn’t exactly fit in with my new ideas on eating healthy. Serve the sweet and spicy salmon with roasted broccoli and a salad for maximum health!

Roasted Broccoli with Garlic and Feta

Adapted from a recipe at A Couple Cooks

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag broccoli florets (or 1 head broccoli, cut into florets)
  • 5 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • ¼ feta cheese, crumbled

Directions:

1) Preheat the oven to 425°F.

2) Cut each garlic clove into quarters.

3) Add broccoli and garlic to a bowl and toss with olive oil. Add salt and fresh ground pepper.

4) Line a baking sheet with tinfoil; add broccoli and garlic to sheet, spreading it out evenly. Roast the broccoli for about 20 minutes.

5) Put broccoli and garlic back to bowl; add feta cheese and top with lemon juice.


Leave a Reply

