Chicken Wings and “cannibalistic” squash

Standard

Two posts in one day! I’m getting good at this. This one is going to be short because I have friends over and I want to get back to the shenanigans that are currently ensuing without me.

Tonight we continued on our local produce track and used up more of our farmers’ market gets: antibiotic- and hormone-free chicken wings and squash! The Boyfriend is a big fan of buffalo wings; me? Not so much. (I attribute that to an unfortunate coincidence when I was struck down with a stomach virus hours after ingesting buffalo wings; but that’s a story for another day). Imagine The Boyfriend’s surprise when I suggested that we cook our new-bought wings buffalo-style. My only caveats were that the wings not be deep fried (for health’s sake) and that they not be so spicy that I couldn’t eat them (for my tongues sake; The Boyfriend has a much higher tolerance for spicy foods than I do. I personally think he is a bit of a spicy-food masochist). Using our new camping grill we were able to keep these babies as healthy as possible while imparting the wings with tons of flavor (and nice char marks).

Grilled Chicken Wings

Adapted from a recipe at Serious Eats

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds chicken wings
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp celery salt
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp Badia complete seasoning (or other similar complete seasoning)

For sauce:

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • ½ Frank’s Red Hot sauce
  • 2 tbsp Garlic Sniper (or other hot sauce—Tabasco, etc)
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tsp white or apple cider vinegar
  • ¼ tsp cayenne pepper

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350o and set a gas grill to heat up.

2) Rub wings with celery salt, pepper, cayenne, paprika, and complete seasoning.

3) Melt butter in small saucepan over low heat. Whisk in the rest of the sauce ingredients until combined. Remove from heat and set aside.

4) Put wings on baking sheet; ladle a teaspoon of sauce on top of each wing. Cook in oven for 8 minutes.

5) Remove wings from oven and finish cooking on grill, 3-5 minutes. Once wings are finished, add to bowl with remaining sauce and toss to cover.

Cannibalistic Stuffed Squash

Adapted from a recipe at Raptor Toe

Ingredients:

  • 2-4 small squash, of various type
  • 1 wedge Light Laughing Cow spreadable swiss
  • 2 tbsp cream cheese (or in my case, schmear)
  • 1 tbsp Gar-la-la (optional; or sub for 2 cloves raw garlic)
  • 1 garlic scape, chopped
  • 3 oz mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 tsp jalapeno, chopped
  • 1 tbsp olive oil + more, for drizzling
  • 2 tsp seasoned breadcrumbs
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350o.

2) Slice each squash lengthwise; using a spoon (or in my case, knife) scoop out innards of each squash; set aside.

3) Place squash on a baking sheet; drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Place in oven and cook for 15 minutes.

4) Chop up leftover squash innards. Add olive oil, jalapeno, mushrooms, innards, and chopped scape to pan; sauté for 5 minutes. Add Gar-la-la and both cheeses to pan; stir until cheese has melted and combination is well mixed.

5) Scoop mixture into squash boats; add breadcrumbs to top of squash and place in oven on broil for 3-5 minutes or until bubbly.

Ok, so why is it called cannibalistic squash? Well the original recipe called for the innards of the squash to be discarded. As I was making this recipe, we had a friend expectantly join us for dinner so I wanted to try to stretch the meal a  little farther; I decided to keep the innards and saute them with the rest of the squash stuffing. I guess I called it cannibalistic because I scooped out the insides of the squash and then stuffed them back in and that seemed a little funny and kind of messed up. Maybe not cannibalistic (because the squash wasn’t really eating itself) but, I don’t know, that’s what I thought of. Maybe I should work on my food-naming skills…

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Working on my mussels | adventurouseappetite

Leave a Reply

