Poor Man’s Pho or Rich Man’s Ramen?

Standard
Poor Man’s Pho or Rich Man’s Ramen?

Today I was craving some soup; but not the out-of-the-can or the comes-in-its-own-cup soup. I really wanted pho. I have a recipe for pho that I really want to try out but I have too much work and no time today so I decided to make a sort of pho/ramen hybrid. While it was not quite pho, it was easy and tasty and filled that soup-shaped-hole in my stomach quite nicely. And thanks to my mid-day meal, I have enough fuel for the hours and hours of studying that lies ahead, haha.

Fake Pho/DIY Ramen

Ingredients:

1 cup water

1/2 to 2/3 chicken bouillon cube*

A handful of fresh mushrooms

A few ounces cooked chicken

A portion of rice vermicelli

Half of a green onion, chopped

Optional: a handful of cilantro, chopped carrots, and/or sliced fresh jalapeno**

*Feel free to sub for one cup chicken or vegetable broth

**I didn’t add any of the above but if I had thought to/had any of those things, I would have

Directions:

Cook vermicelli according to the package directions (I boiled mine for about 4 minutes and then drained and rinsed the noodles in cold water).

Microwave 1 cup water until very hot (about 2 minutes); add bouillon cube and stir until dissolved (omit this step is using broth).

Add chicken and mushrooms to broth (and jalapeno, if using) and microwave an additional 1 minute.

Add noodles to broth. Top with shredded carrots and cilantro (if using) and green onion. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

